Statistics over the Summer…

So Intro to Statistics is my last class (and only summer course)  at Mira Costa College (before heading to Grand Canyon University– it also counts as a requisite for their Nursing Program, so I hit 2 birds with one stone.

I have about a week and half left ’til Stats ends (2 more tests and a final).. other than it being a M-Th class during summer– it has been– I never thought I’d be saying this– but actually pretty fun. That is in large part due to the Professor– he uses thinks out of the box to apply stats to the world around us (think: dating relationships, amount of money earned with every degree you earn, IQ scores, recent presidential elections polling) Reading the book is a must, but we use Statistics for Psychology, 6th Edition 6th Edition by Arthur Aron Ph.D., Elaine N. Aron Ph.D., Elliot Coups Ph.D. and it’s not bad at all— I feel like the book is understandable and uses”normal-speak” (which according to our Prof is used at UC Berkeley and Cal State San Marcos… he also on occasion uses tests from those institutions… and the whole class does really well on those. In fact, those are the “easy tests” his own tests are much more difficult– this means we really know our stuff).

Yes it is a math class, but not more math than you’d encounter in Algebra 2 (so square roots, multiplication, rounding to 10ths and 100ths, division). Not scary at all.

The challenge is learning the concepts (so critical thinking) and drawing conclusions by doing the Math. Definitions and understanding the concepts is key. A lot of the math so far has been bookkeeping…

Stats will definitely change the way you view the world (not an exaggeration) and my little knowledge of it has actually made me very interested in world of nursing research!

 

 

Author: thoughthevisiontarries

Hi everyone! I'm Debbie. In a nutshell... I'm a transfer GCU student in AZ (pre-nursing) originally from San Diego 💙. I'm joyful to be saved by grace through Jesus, and blessed to live my life for Him. I decided to blog 'cause writing stuff down is my way of taking snapshots of my favorite moments. (Pictures are fun too, but nothing beats words on paper :)) My hope is to blog all the way through nursing school so my future RN-self will see how far she has come. Sharing them here so family/friends and other likeminded students can keep track :) Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

